Annual Meeting

Hebrew University, Mt. Scopus, Faculty of Humanities, Room 2715

Monday, July 3 2006




9:00 – 10:00     Registration

10:00 – 12:00   Session I: In Honor of Prof. Daliah Cohen on her 80th Birthday

            Chairman: Dr. Naphtali Wagner (Hebrew University)

            Prof. Eitan Agmon (Bar-Ilan University):          

                        The “How” of Diatonicism: The “Stable Organism” Theory

            Dr. Roni Granot (Hebrew University):

                        Natural Schemata: From Cohen to Damchadran

            Mr. Ariel Paul (Hebrew University):

                        Palestrina’s Song of Songs Cycle: A New Interpretation

            Dr. Rivka Alkoshi (Seminar Levinsky):

New Directions in the Study of the Art of Musical Symbolizing as Representing Concept and Development


12:00 – 12:30   Coffee Break


12:30 – 14:00   Session II: Mozart Year

            Chairman: Prof. Yehoash Hirshberg (Hebrew Univeristy)

            Dr. Adina Portowitz (Bar-Ilan University):

                        J. C. Bach, Mozart, and the Classic Minor Symphony

            Prof. Harai Golomb (Tel-Aviv University):

                        Interpretations of Mozart Operas: Translation, Staging and Filming


                        Sara Elbaz, clarinet

                        Amos Boazson, viola

                        Ahuva Babayof, piano

                                    Mozart: Trio for Piano, Clarinet and Viola, K. 498, “Kegelstadt”


14:00 – 15:00   Lunch Break


15:00 – 16:00   Society General Meeting


16:00 – 17:15  Session III: Panel Discussion with the Ashkenaz Research Group

                        of the Jewish Music Research Center (Hebrew University)

                        on New Directions and Emphases in the Study of Ashkenazic Music

            Participants:      Prof. Eli Schleifer (Hebrew Union College, Jerusalem)

                                    Ms Amalia Kedem (Hebrew University)

                                    Prof. Boaz Tarsi (Jewish Theological Seminary, New York)

  All rights reserved to Israel Musicological Society